Library and Information Services During COVID-19: Home

LibChat is a new service we offer alongside phone calls, email and online in-person consultation service. It makes it easy for you to communicate with us in real-time instant messages. This service is perfect for people who are too busy for a phone call and just need a quick answer to a question or a small request fulfilled.

Ready to get started? All you have to do is click on this link https://uum-my.libguides.com/, key in your details, ask your question, and a librarian will get back to you either in real time or within a day. Sometimes a librarian may unavailable to take your instant message it could be that you asked during non-operating hours. If that is the case, LibChat will direct you to our Ask A Question form.

If you want to contact us outside of LibChat service hours, we’re happy to take your question during open hours by phone at 04-928 3627. We also accept your questions 24/7 via our Ask A Question form.

If you require further assistance on how to access and retrieve ...[as listed] , we’re here to assist you. BOOK your slot for“Online In-person Consultation Service”.

1. Electronic Books (eBook)
2. Electronic Thesis (eThesis)
3. Exam papers
4. Harvard Business Publishing for Educator
5. LibGuides and LibAnswers platform
6. Library eServices (online renewal, inter-library loan, library catalog, borrow book, etc)
7. Online databases
8. Scopus database
9. Verification of plagiarism check (Turnitin)
10. UUM Publication System (UPS)
11. Others..

What is an Online In-person Consultation Service?

This service provides an opportunity to meet with a librarian for in-depth and highly-personalized information assistance. Consultations will be conducted in-person, through Online Meeting Platform (Cisco Webex).

This service is offered to ALL UUM students, academicians, staff and researchers for 30-min session.

For BOOKING and further details, kindly click this link https://bit.ly/psbconsultation or Scan the QR Code.

(Please allow at least between 2 working days for scheduling your appointment)

Kindly follow and like our social media platforms for latest updates on activities, training, services, instant chat and so forth :-

• Facebook: @psbuum
• Instagram: @psbuum
• Twitter: @UUMLibrary

Eikon and Datastream Remote Access  is a new service offers to all UUM users to access Eikon and Datastream remotely and off-campus.  This service is offered to ALL UUM students, academicians, staff and researchers.

BOOK YOUR SESSION > Kindly click this link https://bit.ly/datastreamremote or Scan the QR Code  (First Come, First Serve Basis)

(Please allow at least 1 working day for scheduling your appointment)

Library online databases provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topics and subject areas. Accessing from the library website will ensure that you have full access to the subscribed databases.

These databases provide access to published information sources. Example: academic journal articles, conference proceedings, government publications, reports, scholarly magazines, newspaper, encyclopedias, journal and other resources.

E-Resources platform: https://login.eserv.uum.edu.my/login

Download PDF General 8 Steps to Access Online Databases

Past Year Exam Papers collection comprises digitized past year exam papers from various subjects taught at UUM since 2008. 

How to access Past Year Exam Papers Collection? Follow below steps.

Go to https://library.uum.edu.my/ > mouse over the "Quick Links" > click on “eResources/Databases” to get started.

Or

just click this link https://login.eserv.uum.edu.my/login

UUM eTheses and Dissertations collection comprises titles digitized from print holdings in various subject taught in the university. Most of the full-texts are made available only by contacting the author or responsible authority of the item from the link provided "Request a Copy" (where applicable).

For more details, go to UUM Theses and Dissertations LibGuides. 

‘General Collection’ items are mainly loaned for a period of times based on the loan eligibility such as:-

You can renew Non-Overdue ‘General Collection’ items by logging into your Library Account.
Library Account Link: https://sierra.uum.edu.my/

Kindly follow the Online Renewal Steps for more details.

Don’t worry about verification of plagiarism checking during this “Movement Control Order” period because we are ALWAYS there for you as we ‘Work From Home’.

Librarian will process the application within 3 working days.

For more details, go to Plagiarism LibGuides

Library is now offering Ready to Pickup Book Service to all UUM Students and Staff during MCO due to COVID-19 pandemic. This is a free service.

The request is limited to General and Open Shelves items with ‘Available’ status. However, the library reserves the right to reject the request whenever necessary.

The delivery process will take approximately 1-3 working days.

Pick up activity will be made during library operational hours (Sunday – Thursday).

For more details, go to https://library.uum.edu.my/ready-to-pickup-book-service/